HindeSight

25Jan14

BLOG - HindeSight

Hmmm no updates yet this year – will try and remedy this sometime soon.

In the meantime here’s a link to Hindesight a “40 minute arts documentary made to mark the return visit to Ireland of John Hinde and his wife Jutta for the opening of a retrospective exhibition of his photographic and postcard work at the Irish Museum of Modern Art in the summer of 1993”. I’ve not come across this before and I can’t recall how I found it – possible via @JohnHindeImages. It’s well worth a watch if you’re a fan of Hinde’s work.

2 Responses to “HindeSight”

  1. 1 Katie Murphy

    Thank you thank you thank you!!!! Wow, I just watched the film and what an amazing film indeed! Such a treat to see and hear John Hinde (and his wife) talk about his life and work, as it really puts a bit more context into his images. What a visionary! Hearing Elmar Ludwig and Edmund Nägele talk about their experience working for Hinde was also very moving. A few days ago I took a spin through my collection of Hindes (the bulk of which are Hinde, Ludwig and Nägele) so it was fun to recognize photos and postcards in the film that I know well (plus of course to see so many more images that I’m not familiar with). I know I’ll watch this film again and again. But oh to have been to that exhibit in 1993! Have you seen an exhibit catalog for that show? I’ll stop rambling now, but thanks again for sharing this film!

    • My pleasure – a great find eh? Sadly I’ve not been able to find out much more about the exhibition in question but will keep searching. And as you can see I’ve dipped back into my collection with five cards from Bournemouth a seaside town in Dorset, England. DWx


Leave a Reply

