“Rails To The Sands”

06Jul10

This comes from my main blog : http://digyourfins.wordpress.com/

“As I may have mentioned elsewhere I do like to be beside the seaside, so you can imagine how pleased I was to be contacted by Tim Dunn curator of Rails to the Sands earlier this week – actually you probably can’t yet but stay with me a while and you will. Tim got in contact because he was after some John Hinde postcards from the 1960s onwards to feature in his exhibition and as such had seen some he liked the look of on one of my other blogs at https://wishingiwashere.wordpress.com/.

So after much negotiating regarding my fee, the price of a 99 should I make it to the exhibition (although Tim doesn’t know this yet), I can confirm that postcards sent from Jean & Brian, Den Joy & Louise, John Sue Glen & Darlene, Angie Jonathan & Robert, Eddie & Charlie and mum will all be making an appearance in glamorous Cleethorpes from the 18th July (I can’t confirm quite how glamorous Cleethorpes is however I’m going to try and make it along there some time soon so will report back).

The exhibition which is all about the “history of the seaside railway and seaside holiday” features, amongst other things, two exhibition galleries filled with artefacts, postcards and posters and a constantly changing collection of historic steam, electric and diesel locomotives. At £1.50 I think it’s well worth a visit.”

No Responses Yet to ““Rails To The Sands””

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

